Find out what your case is worth One click that’s it
November 23, 2020

Boating Age Restrictions in Georgia

Boating accidents are an unfortunate reality in most states with open water, and the resulting injuries can be devastating. According to Georgia Wildlife, there were more than 100 recorded boating incidents on the state’s waters in 2013, including 27 drownings and 59 injuries. In that same period, police arrested 160 people for boating under the influence (BUI), and officials suspect alcohol played a role in at least 15 of the serious accidents.

Because of the dangers surrounding boats and other watercrafts, state legislators have enacted certain laws and age restrictions to help reduce the number of injuries on Georgia waters. If you were a victim in a boating accident—especially if the incident was the result of another person’s negligence or violation of the law—you may be entitled to compensation.

At Monge & Associates, we can help you file a lawsuit against the person who caused your injuries. Our attorneys have handled a multitude of cases that involve boating injuries, and we can use our knowledge and resources to represent your interests.

Scott Monge is a respected member of the State Bar of Georgia, and he can evaluate the circumstances surrounding your crash to determine if you may have a valid claim for damages. Call our office today at to schedule an appointment with an Atlanta personal-injury lawyer from our firm.

In the meantime, here is an overview of boating age restrictions in the state of Georgia:

Boating Age Restrictions in Georgia

According to Boat Ed, people under the age of 12 years old cannot operate a personal watercraft or vessel that is 16 feet or longer. An individual under the age of 12 may operate a boat smaller than this if it does not have an engine larger than 30 horsepower and an adult accompanies him or her.

An individual between the ages of 12 and 15 may operate a vessel longer than 16 feet if he or she has passed an approved boating education course. However, there must still be a competent adult on board for operators in this age bracket. People older than 16 may operate a PWC or boat if they have adequate identification with them at all times.

Georgia Boating Law Enforcement

Under Georgia law, people operating vessels on state waters must have the appropriate license or card. A law enforcement officer may request identification at any time. People who fail to carry the appropriate card or license may face a fine.

Like most legal matters, boating laws are often complex in nature. If you have questions and concerns related to a boating accident, contact a lawyer from Monge & Associates.

With the support of Atlanta attorney, Scott Monge, you can focus on your physical recovery rather than worrying about the legal complexities of your case. To get started, call Monge & Associates today at and schedule an appointment — Because You Want to Win.