Pickup Truck Seat Belt Laws in Georgia
Georgia traffic laws are primarily in place for drivers’ own safety, as well as the safety of those around them. Generally speaking, good drivers are aware of the local traffic laws, and they typically drive within the legal limits.
Even if you are a cautious and experienced driver who respects the rules of the road, it is important to remain up to date on local laws and defensive driving techniques. In many cases, you can avoid an accident with a negligent driver or successfully settle a claim if you have sound knowledge of the driving laws.
Unfortunately, even the most law-abiding motorists get in collisions. If you sustained serious injuries due to a crash with a negligent driver, you may be able to file a claim for medical expenses and lost wages.
At Monge & Associates, we help people who have suffered injuries due to another person or company’s negligence. Scott Monge is an experienced Atlanta personal-injury lawyer who has been a member of the State Bar of Georgia for more than 20 years, and he has helped many clients file accident and injury claims. Call Monge & Associates today at (800) 860-8021 to schedule an appointment, and read on for more information regarding Georgia traffic laws.
Pickup Truck Safety Belt Laws
According to the Georgia Governor’s Office of Highway Safety, all pickup truck drivers must wear their safety belts while driving in their vehicles. Georgia law enforcement will fine any pickup truck driver failing to wear one.
More than 50 percent of fatal crashes on Georgia’s rural roads involve trucks and light pickups, and more than 75 percent of the people killed in them were not wearing their safety belts at the time of the accident. According to the Georgia Governor’s Office, these crashes cost the government close to $8 billion each year. It is important to note that the safety belt law does not impact Georgia farmers, and it exempts all agricultural use around the state.
Here is a breakdown of another Georgia traffic law:
According to Georgia Magazine, police are trying hard to enforce the Move-Over law. This law keeps law enforcement officials and traffic violators who have pulled over safe from accidents with moving vehicles. Under this law, drivers must move-over for official and emergency vehicles stopped on the side of the highway.
According to Georgia Code, a driver approaching an authorized emergency vehicle must make a lane change into a safe lane. If this is not possible, the law requires drivers to slow down and prepare to stop a safe distance from the scene.
Georgia police officers enforce these laws for the safety of all motorists and passengers on the roads. If you are suffering from car accident injuries, call Atlanta personal-injury attorney Scott Monge today for advice at (800) 860-8021.
At Monge & Associates, we can assess your claim and potentially recover compensation for costs associated with medical expenses and lost wages. Schedule a free initial consultation with us today — Because You Want to Win.